Skip to main content

Melvin W. Jones Mentoring Award Nomination

The Melvin W. Jones Mentoring Award is presented annually to honor a member of the community who impacts the lives of others through the development of significant mentoring relationships; encourages and inspires others in mentoring relationships and demonstrates servant leadership through commitment to mentoring relationships and promoting diversity in community leadership.

The selection criteria are:

  • Development of significant relationships with others to assist them in career, personal, and community growth issues
  • Impact on others’ lives
  • Encouragement of others to engage in mentoring relationships
  • Service as a role model and inspiration to those mentored
  • Demonstrated trusteeship of the community through a commitment to mentoring relationships and promoting diversity in community leadership and servant leadership

To Nominate:

  1. Complete the online nomination form.
  2. Submit your nomination offline:
    • Mail:     211 N. 14th St., Lincoln, NE  68508
    • Email: (Mick Hale) 
  3. Nominations must be received by Leadership Lincoln by Thursday, January 31, 2019.
  4. Please contact Leadership Lincoln with any questions (402.441.4661).


Past Award Recipients:

2018 - Keisha Thomas
2017 - Dr. Jeannette Jones Vazansky
2016 - Tim Linsenmeyer
2015 - Charlesette "Charlie" Foster
2014 - John Harris
2013 - Mauricio “Marty” Ramirez
2010 - Dr. Jake Kirkland & Dr. Dolores Simpson-Kirkland
2006 - Nathan Woods
2005 - Tom Rutz & Linda Robinson-Rutz
2004 - Kathy Campbell
2003 - T.J. McDowell
2002 - Nancy Becker
2001 - Eric Lee
2000 - Chris Martin

Nomination Form

It is helpful for the selection committee to learn how you believe this nominee’s actions are related to the selection criteria.